Derek Kisby Trophy

Derek Kisby Tribute, from the club's newsletter

Derek Kisby passed away early in 1976 from throat cancer leaving his widow Jean, daughter Sharon and two sons, Kevin and Paul. Jean has since remarried but the family remain in touch with the Club and present the Derek Kisby Memorial Trophy (see below) every year.

Derek lived in Beccles, Suffolk and was a mechanic by trade working for Simpsons VAG in Lowestoft. Derek came into Midget racing in 1973 after competing successfully in Stock Car racing on dirt tracks in Norfolk and Suffolk. He bought a brand new Fireball Mk4 from Frank Boyles which was on display at the annual party at Aldershot Stadium in the Winter of 1972. The engine was a 1275 'S' on a helical box running Twin 1 3/4 " SU carbs. The cost of this car ready to race in 1972 was 1500.

Derek raced with Spedeworth rather than the MARC and competed in most meetings including the mid-week outings. He also travelled to Holland in his first season to represent England in the European Championship meeting, competing in the consolation event. Derek and Frank Boyles were two of the first drivers to race on 13 inch slicks as opposed to the 10 inch Dunlop and Firestone tyres which were the norm in those days. He quickly built up a reputation as a good all round driver having battled regularly with the stars of the day; Mick Bonner, Boyles, Roland Parker, Malcolm Goodman and Bill Boarer.

Always very well presented, the car sported a red livery and raced under the number 99. Derek made the red grade with ease and stayed there until the end of his career. In 1974 he continued to do well, regularly finishing in the top 6 and often taking race wins thereby qualifying for another European outing in Holland and Germany. 1975 was the Club's first season as an independent organisation and proved to be Derek's most successful. He won the Bob Elson Trophy and finished 5th overall in the Points Championship, no mean feat when you consider there were regular 20-25 car grids with 13 red tops, 18 blues and 16 whites on the grading list over the 20 meetings.

Year Date Circuit Winner
2020 not held - -
2019 Saturday 10 August Swaffham Francois Damen
2018 Sunday 23 September Swaffham Steve Sutch
2017 Sunday 16 April Swaffham David Bonser
2016 Sunday 21 August Yarmouth Daniel Pooley
2015 Sunday 23 August Yarmouth Jonathan Pooley
2014 Sunday 27 July Yarmouth Jonathan Pooley
2013 Sunday 1 September Yarmouth Jonathan Pooley
2012 Sunday 22 July Yarmouth Jonathan Pooley
2011 Sunday 17 July Yarmouth Luke Retchless
2010 Sunday 22 August Yarmouth Marc de Land
2009 Sunday 27 September Yarmouth Daniel Pooley
2008 Sunday 3 August Yarmouth Andrew Bilby
2007 Sunday 22 July Yarmouth Jonathan Pooley
2006 Sunday 28 May Yarmouth Jonathan Pooley
2005 Sunday 24 July Yarmouth Rob Sayell
2004 Sunday 2 May Yarmouth Gary Bonner
2003 Sunday 4 May Yarmouth Alan Buckland
2002 Sunday 16 June Yarmouth Rob Sayell
2001 Sunday 19 August Yarmouth Gordon Pooley
2000 Sunday 7 May Yarmouth Rob Sayell
1999 Sunday 29 August Swaffham Rob Sayell
1998 Sunday 6 September Peterborough Dick Loseby
1997 Saturday 9 August Ringwood Harry Sayell
1996 Sunday 18 August Northampton Stuart Haynes
1995   Peterborough Dick Loseby
1994 Sunday 25 September Peterborough John Calladine
1993 Sunday 15 August Peterborough Harry Sayell
1992 Sunday 4 October Peterborough Gordon Pooley
1991 Sunday 15 September Peterborough Harry Sayell
1990 Sunday 16 September Yarmouth Harry Sayell
1989 Sunday 8 October Peterborough Harry Lowe
1988 Saturday 17 September Swaffham Harry Lowe
1987   Peterborough Anthony Brewer
1986 Sunday 22 June Peterborough Basil Craske
1985 Sunday 19 May Swaffham Dave Wesbroom
1984 Sunday 17 June Swaffham Harry Sayell
1983 Monday 15 May Swaffham Gary Pollard
1982 Sunday 16 May Swaffham Mick Bonner
1981 Satuday 9 August Swaffham Mick Bonner
1978 Saturday 17 June Wisbech Mick Bonner
1977 Saturday 21 August Swaffham Basil Craske