Sunday 12 July, 2009, Aldershot, Southern Championship

A beautiful day greeted the drivers for the Southern Championship at Aldershot, where the racing was to be as hot as the weather.

The first heat saw the red grade drivers spaced apart to enable them a clean getaway. This they did with Gordon Pooley 33 takeing the win from fellow red Marc deLand 15. Leon Retchles 99 was the early leader but was only able to manage 7th at the end, one place better than dad Phil who was docked 2 places for contact with the 23 car.

Dispite a slippy track the racing was equally as furious in heat 2. Leon 99 held on for 3rd place but was unable to stop Marc 15 and Jonathan Pooley 31 from passing him for 1st and 2nd. The racing being so close only 7 tenths of a second seperating the fastest laps of each driver.

20 laps for the Southern Championship saw Leon 99 again leading with Alan Herbert 76 and Cliff Bunn 23 following. Around the half way point Alan's throttle broke leaving him out of the race and momentarily holding up the 23 car. This enabled Andrew Bilby 16 to move in front taking the lead a few laps later and going on to win the Southern Championship, with Leon 99 holding on for 2nd place. Jonathan 31 was catching the lead pair but had to turn off the stereo and air conditioning as his battery was going flat, being lucky to hang on to 3rd at the finish. The action didn't end there, just as the chequered flag was being waved Neil Clarke 77 and Marc deLand 15 had a coming together in turns 3 and 4, the clash saw Marc's car fly through the air and not stopping until he hit the pit gate, thankfully Marc being okay.

Race one: 1st 33 Gordon Pooley, 2nd 15 Marc de Land, 3rd 76 Allen Herbert, 4th 31 Jonathan Pooley, 5th 32 Daniel Pooley, 6th 16 Andrew Bilby, 7th 99 Leon Retchless, 8th 9 Phil Retchless, 9th 77 Neil Clarke, 10th 23 Cliff Bunn

Race two: 1st 15 Marc de Land, 2nd 31 Jonathan Pooley, 3rd 99 Leon Retchless, 4th 16 Andrew Bilby, 5th 9 Phil Retchless, 6th 33 Gordon Pooley, 7th 76 Allen Herbert, 8th 23 Cliff Bunn, 9th 32 Daniel Pooley, 10th 77 Neil Clarke

Race three (Southern Championship): 1st 16 Andrew Bilby, 2nd 99 Leon Retchless, 3rd 31 Jonathan Pooley, 4th 9 Phil Retchless, 5th 32 Daniel Pooley, 6th 77 Neil Clarke, 7th 23 Cliff Bunn