Sunday 8 September 1996, Peterborough, European Championship
Report from Lynn News

GRAND Prix Midget Racer, Harry Sayell successfully defended the European Championship at the weekend, winning the coveted title of European Champion for the third time in his Midget racing career.

Running the 1600cc VW engine for the 40 lap event held at Alwalton Raceway, Peterborough on Sunday, Harry put all memories of the disappointing World Championship held at the same track in May firmly behind him, when he secured pole position with a lap time of 16.47 seconds. Dutch World Championship Toni Scheepens joined him on the front row with a time of 16.81, with former World & European champion Klaus Kilianski third. Another local driver and current British champion Gordon Pooley from March made up the second row as fourth fastest.

Once the race got under way it soon had the look of a trademark Sayell event with Harry quickly pulling away from the rest of the field to lap everyone except the second place man and to be three quarters of a lap clear at the flag. The flag to flag victory was a convincing one with the lead never having been challenged. Klaus Kilianski came home second with Britain's Steve Piggins a well deserved third with a 1300cc version of VW engine run by Harry.

The two support races were run with a return to normal grid positions. With Harry taking up his position at the back of the grid amongst his Continental competitors he was delighted therefore, to take a second victory of the day over just 15 laps. The final event of the day saw a second place result.

Although the main event carried no points towards the overall series, the two support races did and Harry, having opted for the 1600cc engine in order to compete on an equal power band with the five visiting continental drivers, was only eligible for half points. He was very pleased therefore to extend his lead still further over local rival Stuart Haynes, of Dereham. With just three race meetings left Harry's 87 point lead looks likely to secure him a seventh consecutive Driver's Championship at the end of the season, making club history for the second year running.

With a representative from AP Borg & Beck watching, Harry hopes for continued sponsorship from them next year.

He said: "I had a fantastic day and would like to thank Rob and Dave who worked as mechanics for me, my family and friends who came along to cheer me on, as well as my other local sponsors this year, B's Sound & Security and CCS."

European car 14 was also written as car 4 in various notes. Similar issues with 77 which was a doubled up number Neil Clarke and Werner Demundt both raced under that number. Demundt may be referred to as number 7.

Timed laps

41 John Salter 20.44, 19.75 (15th)
8 Eddy Ricketts 18.55 (12th)
12 Barry Phillips 19.97, 19.35 (13th)
11 Steve Piggins 18.39, 17.46 (6th)
77 Neil Clarke 18.14, 17.77 (8th)
1 Harry Sayell 16.98, 16.47 (1st)
19 Stuart Haynes 18.42, 17.44 (5th)
33 Gordon Pooley 17.98, 17.40 (4th)
100 Toni Scheepens 17.60, 16.81 (2nd)
14c tba 17.51, 17.59 (7th)
25 Gary Granger 18.97, 18.42 (10th)
115c tba 19.52, 18.52 (11th)
77c tba 18.55, 18.24 (9th)
16 Andrew Bilby 21.43, 19.66 (14th)
93 Klaus Kilianski 17.10, 16.90 (3rd)

European Championship (40 Laps)
Cars: 1, 100c, 93c, 33, 19, 11, 14c, 77c, 7, 115c, 25, 8, 12, 16, 41, 14, 55, 27, 26
1st 1 Harry Sayell, 2nd 93 Klaus Kilianski, 3rd 11 Steve Piggins, 4th 26 Clinton Dorrell, 5th 33 Gordon Pooley, 6th 77c, 7th 25 Gary Granger, 8th 27 Gary Bonner, 9th 14c, 10th 55 John Weston, 11th 12 Barry Phillips

Race two: 1st 1 Harry Sayell, 2nd 26 Clinton Dorrell, 3rd 19 Stuart Haynes, 4th 93 Klaus Kilianski, 5th 8 Eddy Ricketts, 6th 100 Toni Scheepens, 7th 77 Neil Clark, 8th 25 Gary Granger, 9th 33 Gordon Pooley, 10th 11 Steve Piggins, 11th 2 Andy Collins, 12th 44 Brian Gough

Race three (Gerald Smith Trophy, 20 laps)
Cars: 12, 27, 26, 8, 2, 77, 25, 55, 33, 19, 11, 115, 7, 4, 93, 93, 1, 100
1st 26 Clinton Dorrell, 2nd 1 Harry Sayell, 3rd 93 Klaus Kilianksi, 4th 27 Gary Bonner, 5th 100 Toni Scheepens, 6th 8 Eddy Ricketts, 7th 25 Gary Granger, 8th 11 Steve Piggins, 9th 33 Gordon Pooley, 10th 55 John Weston, 11th 77 Neil Clarke, 12th 2 Andy Collins, 13th 19 Stuart Haynes, 14th 14c, 15th 7 Werner Demundt