Sunday 10 October 1993 - Northampton - Graham Hill Memorial Trophy
Report from Staines & Ashford News

Staines racer Steve Piggins has completed his first season in oval racing's fastest formula, the Grand Prix Midgets. The 44 year old self employed precision engineer switched from kart racing at the start of the season and has maintained his blue grading throughout the year. Steve took a race win at the last Birmingham meeting and added more points to his tally at Northampton. An exciting, penultimate meeting saw three different drivers taking the flag, sadly Piggins was not amongst the winners.

Steve was up to sixth place by the end of lap one in the first heat and then fifth a lap later, but before the SP Precision car could climb up into fourth it climbed over Nic Grindrod's BMC Arrow leaving the two cars precariously placed on the exit of the pit bend. Gary Granger, meanwhile, made the most of his pole position start to pip Dick Loseby to the flag although there was drama as the winning car went out of control after crossing the line, spinning into the path of Harry Sayell's VW.

Granger led from pole again in heat two whilst Piggins had climbed into third by lap three and then went second passing Gordon Pooley before dropping to third, again, as Gary Bonner nipped through on the inside. By the end of 15 laps Bonner had caught and passed Granger to win with John Calladine in third. Piggins held on for a deserved fourth ahead of European Champion, Sayell.

The 20 lap final was the sixteenth running of the Graham Hill Memorial Trophy, Hill being Honorary President of the Grand Prix Midget Club before his untimely death. Granger led away for the third race in succession with Piggins initially in fifth. John Calladine proved to be the quickest of the star drivers as he carved his way through the field to relieve the short lived leader Pooley of the lead in the closing stages. Piggins meanwhile was set for another good finish but lost engine power and a couple of places over the last few laps to come home in seventh. Calladine took the trophy ahead of Sayell and Pooley. Steve entered the final meeting eighth in the driver's Championship and earned himself promotion to the red grade in the process. This may not have been enough to secure the club's 'Best Newcomer' award, but, if not, this year's results will have been reward enough for Piggins

Heat 1: 1st Gary Granger, 2nd Richard Loseby, 3rd Gary, Bonner, 4th John Calladine, 5th Harry Sayell, 6th John Salter, 7th John Weston, 8th Eddy Ricketts

Heat 2: 1st Gary Bonner, 2nd Gary Granger, 3rd John Calladine, 4th Steve Piggins, 5th Harry Sayell, 6th Nic Grindrod, 7th Dick Loseby, 8th Gordon Pooley

Graham Hill Trophy: 1st John Calladine, 2nd Harry Sayell, 3rd Gordon Pooley, 4th Neil Clarke, 5th Eddy Ricketts, 6th Stuart Haynes, 7th Steve Piggins, 8th Dick Loseby, 9th John Weston