Competing Drivers



Mark Greensmith - No 2
Car: Scorpian From Boston in Lincolshire.
Titles: Northern and Midland Champion 2015
Mark joined us for the 2015 season - he has racing experience in Karts, GT Rods, BriSCA F2 and Superstox.


Leon Smith - No 3
Car: Scorpian-Vauxhall
Major titles: 2014 Graham Hill Trophy, Best Newcomer 2014
Notes: Former Hot Rod star Leon Smith made his GP Midget debut in 2014 racing the ex Jonathan Pooley Scorpian. Leon has plenty of short oval racing experience but has not raced on the ovals for many years. Over the last six years he has raced Karts in his own team and won the British Enduro Championship.


Mark Hodges - No 5
Car: Scorpian-Vauxhall
Major titles: Tourist Trophy 2009
Notes: Returned to the championship in 2009 after a year away. Straight back into the winning habit taking all three wins at the Tourist Trophy at Cowdenbeath. Mark originally joined the Midgets back in 1997.


Peter Dorrell - No 8
Car: Gazelle-Ford
Notes: Long term supporter of the Club returning to the track in 2017. Peter has taken many race victories with the club with wins at Birmingham, Aldershot, Yarmouth, Arena, Grimley and Northampton.

David Bonser - No 10
Car: Van Diemen
Major titles: 2017 European Champion, 2016 & European World Champion, 2016 & 2014 Points Champion (& rear engine champion), 2012 East of England Champion, 2011 Tourist Trophy, 2013 Northern and Midland Champion, 2014 British Champion, 2014 & 2015 National Champion, 2014 Southern Champion, 2014 Simon Pashley Trophy
Joined us late in the 2010 season. Dave previously raced 'Incarods' in the Midlands. He raced the ex Allen Herbert BMC in his first full season in 2011 taking wins on our visit to Knockhill. He then bought the Daniel Pooley built Van Diemen and raced a Scorpian in 2013 and to the title in 2014.


Alan Buckland - No 19
Car: Madgwick
Major titles: 2006 Club Champion, 3 time European Champion
Former champion made a welcome return for a limited programme in 2014/5.


Lee Morgan - No 21
Car: Scorpian
Ex Motocross and Rebels racer joins the Club for the 2015 season in the ex Nick Price car.



Clifford Bunn - No 23
Car: Drinan
Major titles: 2015 British Champion. Multiple front engine title winer, 2008 Bill Boarer Memorial Championship, 2008 June Cochrane Memorial Champion, 2007 Midlands Points Champion
Notes: Clifford had a very strong and consistent 2008 winning two titles and finishing up runner up in both the World championship and National points championship. He built a new front engine car which made its debut during the 2010 season. He imported and adapted the impressive Drinan from America in 2014.


Alex Butcher - No 25
From: Cambridge

Matt Hyde - No 26


Pete Gillett - 27
Car: Scorpian-Vauxhall
Welcome to the club for the 2017 season


Jonathan Pooley - No 31
Car: Scorpian
Major titles: 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 World Champion, 2010, 2011 & 2013 European Champion, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012 & 2013 Points Champion, 2008, 2010 and 2011 National Champion. Northern & Midland Champion 2009
Notes: Jonathan is part of the infamous Pooley stable. The current Scorpian is a third generation design and is currently the best presented car. Jonathan has come of age in the last two years and is getting better and better - one of the main men to beat in the formula.


Daniel Pooley - No 32
Car: Scorpian
Major titles: 2015 World Champion, 2014 European Champion. 2008: East Anglian Champion, West Country Challange. 2009: European Championship, East of England Championionship, Derek Kisby Trophy, June Cochrane Trophy (2010) and Simon Pashley Trophy (2010 & 2016), Bill Boarer Trophy 2011 & 2015
Notes: Younger of the two Pooley brothers - multi title winner.


Tony Smith - No 37
Car: ASRE-Probe-Peugeot
Joined the Midgets in 2011 racing the Terry Baimbridge Fireball style car and moved from having the oldest car in the formula to the newest with the side-engine Probe in 2015. Tony is an ex BriSCA F2 driver.


Steve Sutch - No 40
Car: Scorpian-Vauxhall
Major titles: Dorrell Sports Flooring Trophy 2016, Top Newcomer 2016
Notes: Ex Superstox driver joins us for the 2016 season. Impressed immediately winning on his debut at Swaffham and then won the trophy final in his second meeting which was at Birmingham

Malcolm Foskett - No 48
Car: Scorpian-Vauxhall
Notes: A very well known and respected short oval racer makes his debut with us in 2017

Jamie Young - No 55
Car: JSY Mini Sprint-Ford
Keith Brooks - No 57
Car: Fireball mk4 copy
Ex Hot Rod driver Keith made his debut with us in July 2017 at Birmingham racing the Fireball originally built by Toni Scheepens.

Steve Young - No 59
Car: Cheetah-Peugeot
Major titles: 2016 Front Engine Champion. 2016 National Champion, 2007, 2013, 2016 British Champion, Bill Boarer Memorial 2005
Notes: Former F2 and Superstox driver from Coventry. Steve has a very confident racing style with his back end hanging out around each corner. Wet specialist - if it rained every meeting he would be National Points Champion!


Allen Herbert - No 76
Major titles: 2000 Southern Champion
Car: Scorpian-Vauxhall
Joint club chairman. Started racing in 1994.


Neil Clarke - No 77
Car: Stealth
Major titles: National Champion 1992, East of England Champion 2005
Notes: One of the real characters of the club - the man from Brum will help anyone with advice or repairs. Neil has raced Hot Rods, Stock Rods and Super Rods over the years and is our second longest serving driver. Neil tops the career points scoring table for active drivers.